Back To Top
June 06, 2018

CNL researchers and engineers recognized with 2018 Canadian Nuclear Achievement Awards

Annual industry awards honour those who have made exceptional contributions to the field of nuclear science and technology

Chalk River, ON, June 06, 2018 – Canadian Nuclear Laboratories (CNL), Canada’s premier nuclear science and technology organization, is pleased to announce that several members of its team have been recognized for their outstanding work in support of the Canadian nuclear industry, and the Canadian nuclear research and academic communities. The 2018 Canadian Nuclear Achievement Awards, presented jointly by the Canadian Nuclear Association (CNA) and the Canadian Nuclear Society (CNS), honour those who have made exceptional contributions, technical and non-technical, to the field of nuclear science and technology.

“I would like to pass along my sincere congratulations to this year’s winners of the 2018 Canadian Nuclear Achievement Awards,” commented Mark Lesinski, President & CEO. “It is always exciting to see members of our team succeed, but what is most inspiring to me is that the individuals honoured through these awards reflect a true cross section of CNL. One of the greatest strengths of our organization is the diversity of our expertise and capabilities, and these awards really highlight that strength.”

The 2018 Awards recipients from CNL are comprised of members of its operations, engineering and support team; a diverse research team with members both new and experienced; and leaders from within CNL recognized for their technical strength, competencies and contributions to the broader nuclear community.

CNL recipients of the 2018 Canadian Nuclear Achievement Awards include:

Ian McRae Award: Dr. Joanne M. Ball, for leadership and contributions in the areas of nuclear reactor safety, nuclear fuels, and environmental protection.  Dr. Joanne Ball is an internationally recognized research scientist, senior manager and nuclear safety advocate with more than 25 years of experience in the field of nuclear safety. Having published over 100 reports in the area of fission-product (particularly radioiodine) behaviour under severe accidents conditions, she has contributed extensively to increasing the nuclear industry’s knowledge and understanding in this very important area. Dr. Ball’s positive influence on inspiring and supporting women in sciences was also noted in her nomination.

Harold A. Smith Outstanding Contribution Award: The National Research Universal (NRU) reactor, and the team within it have made the world a better place. Their contributions are unparalleled. Together, they have provided lifesaving medical isotopes to the benefit of over a billion people; built and supported the continued operation of a nuclear fleet that has provided clean, reliable energy to Canada and the world; and supported research that has led to Nobel-prizes, grown our understanding of the world we live in, and enabled technological and industrial advances that we enjoy each and every day. This award celebrates the team of current and former experimenters, operators, maintenance, safety and support staff who have supported the reactor over its 60 years of operation.

John S. Hewitt Team Achievement Award:  CNL’s Physics and Economics of Thorium-Based Fuel Research team is being recognized for its scientific and technical achievement in closing identified gaps in our understanding of advanced fuels, including uranium-based fuels augmented by small amounts of thorium, and thorium-based fuels. The work performed by this team has helped create a stronger technical and scientific foundation for enabling the use of advanced fuels and fuel cycles in heavy-water reactors, ultimately contributing to long-term energy security and safety for Canada and the international community.

Fellow of the Canadian Nuclear Society: Throughout his career, Dr. Blair Bromley has been a tireless supporter of the nuclear industry and nuclear science and technology, as well as a dedicated volunteer for the CNS, both at the local and national levels. Blair has served as Branch chair, and as member of various Conference Organizing Committees and CNS Council. He single-handedly spearheaded the CNS’ Fusion Science and Technology Division for many years, providing its members with updates on the current state of fusion energy, and organizing various technical meetings and symposia on the topic. Dr. Bromley is a respected researcher in the Canadian and international Reactor-Physics community, having contributed significantly to the general understanding of advanced fuel cycles in heavy-water reactors and thorium-based fuels in particular.

The awards were presented on June 5, 2018, during the CNS Annual Conference in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, June 3-6, 2018. For more information about the 2018 Canadian Nuclear Achievement Awards, visit

For more information on CNL, including opportunities to join the team, visit

About CNL 

Canadian Nuclear Laboratories is a world leader in nuclear science and technology offering unique capabilities and solutions across a wide range of industries. Actively involved with industry-driven research and development in nuclear, transportation, clean technology, energy, defence, security and life sciences, we provide solutions to keep these sectors competitive internationally.

With ongoing investments in new facilities and a focused mandate, Canadian Nuclear Laboratories is well positioned for the future. A new performance standard reinforced with a strong safety culture underscores every activity.

For more information on the complete range of Canadian Nuclear Laboratories services, please visit or contact [email protected].



Patrick Quinn
Director, Corporate Communications
CNL, 1-866-886-2325

Recent News