Back To Top

Leadership Team

At CNL, advancing nuclear science and technology for a clean and secure world is the foundation for everything our organization does. Our leadership team directs and controls all operations of CNL and works collaboratively to continuously improve the organization and proudly execute on our core values and missions.
Leadership Team

Board of Directors

Jan Preston
Interim Chair of the Board
Keith Wettlaufer
Member of the Board,
Chair of the Audit Committee
Yaprak Baltacioglu
Member of the Board,
Chair of the Strategy Committee
Terry Michalske
Member of the Board,
Chair of the Safety Committee
Jack Craig
Member of the Board
Howard Shearer
Member of the Board
Joe McBrearty
President and Chief Executive Officer
Phillip Boyle
Member of the Board
Monica Steedman
Member of the Board

Backgrounder: GoCo Model

Atomic Energy of Canada Limited (AECL) has contracted CNL to manage and operate its sites and facilities across the country.  It is also contracted to carry out AECL’s mandate to enable nuclear science and technology and to protect the environment by fulfilling the government of Canada’s radioactive waste and decommissioning responsibilities.  In turn, AECL sets the direction and oversees the contract.

While AECL owns the sites and the nuclear liabilities, CNL is responsible for the day-to-day operations and maintenance of the facilities.  CNL operates under a GoCo model, meaning government-owned, contractor-operated.

The Government of Canada selected the Canadian National Energy Alliance, a private sector consortium that represents some of the world’s most experienced nuclear engineering and management firms, to run CNL in 2015 after an international competition.