Back To Top
CNL Awards of Excellence/Determination of Transmuted Helium

Determination of Transmuted Helium

Grant Bickel, Jeff DeJong, Stephen Eyvindson, John Leppinen, Ryan MacLeod, Kevin McCaugherty and Youqing Shi for an innovative analytical method for determination of transmuted helium in irradiated nuclear reactor materials by vacuum fusion mass spectrometry (VFMS). The analytical method and equipment were developed to meet the requirements of a major project, and the newly developed technology and repurposing of existing equipment and laboratories was motivated by the principles of improved productivity, efficiencies, effectiveness and cost reduction.