CNL’s Canadian Nuclear Research Initiative

CNL’s Canadian Nuclear Research Initiative (CNRI) is a program to support collaborative small modular reactors (SMR) research projects with third-party proponents in Canada. The goal of the program is to accelerate the deployment of safe, secure, clean, and cost effective SMRs in Canada.

CNL provides a wide spectrum of technical expertise and our Chalk River site has R&D facilities that have been used in the development of prototype reactors for over 50 years. We offer capabilities in many areas ranging from fuels and reactor components through thermodynamics and materials science. Our team is ready to work with you jointly to address technical, regulatory, and economic barriers, allowing you to progress your SMR from concept to demonstration and beyond.

Annually, CNRI will issue a call for proposals, and CNL will enter into joint R&D projects based on the results of a review of these proposals. The objective of CNRI is to make CNL’s technical capabilities and expert knowledge available and accessible to the SMR community in order to equip them with the technical support required to progress towards SMR deployment in Canada.

For more information, or to submit your proposal, email commercial@cnl.ca.

Focus Areas

A call for proposals (CFP) will be issued annually as part of the CNRI program. Included in each CFP will be a list of focus areas which will change from year to year. Laboratory experiments will be considered on a case by case basis. The list of focus areas is as follows:

Table 1-1
2019 CNRI Focus Areas

 

Topic

Focus Area Description

1.

Reactor Physics

  • Modelling the behaviour of SMR cores with benchmark comparisons against state of the art reactor codes and prototype reactor data
  • Exploratory studies (modelling and experiments) of fuel and other materials using the ZED-2 reactor

2.

Thermalhydraulics

  • Exploratory studies (modelling and experiments) of the thermalhydraulic behaviour of nuclear fuel and SMR

3.

SMR Component Degradation

  • Modelling of degradation phenomena including corrosion, erosion, fouling, fretting, vibrations, and hydride formation
  • Analytical chemistry and metal analysis for SMR components

4.

Safety, Security and Licensing

  • Modelling and simulation of accident scenarios
  • Factors affecting remote monitoring/operations
  • Safeguards by design
  • Security by design
  • Technical support for vendor design review and licensing

5.

Human Factors

  • SMR operations considerations
  • The effectiveness of Human Machine Interfaces proposed for SMRs

6.

Economics

  • Modelling to assess the viability of SMR technologies for various applications
  • Modelling of an SMR within a nuclear hybrid energy system with multiple products such as electricity, heat, hydrogen, storage, etc.

7.

Transportation

  • Challenges and potential solutions related to SMR transportation

8.

Decommissioning and Waste Management

  • Considerations for environmental assessment and monitoring for SMRs
  • Current DGR requirements and possible techniques to ensure SMR fuel meets these requirements

9.

Feasibility Analysis

  • Factors for a given scenario/application to determine its feasibility based on the SMR technology
  • This may include integration with renewables, applications such as hydrogen production or desalination, etc.
  • Manufacturing and construction techniques for SMRs
  • This may include robotics, advanced manufacturing, 3D printing, etc.

10.

Market Analysis

  • Potential SMR markets to determine market requirements and opportunities

11.

Fuel Development

  • Exploratory studies (modelling and experiments) to support future fuel development for SMRs

Collaboration with Multiple Applicants

CNL encourages joint proposals with multiple applicants that tackle common R&D issues. As part of the CNRI program CNL will help facilitate this by connecting applicants that have expressed interest in collaborating on similar topics or challenges.

Applicants are responsible for identifying focus areas where they are interested in a potential collaboration within two weeks of the CNRI Launch. CNL will inform applicants of any other parties who expressed interest in collaborating in a similar area. Applicants are encouraged to work together to submit a joint proposal for consideration.

Joint proposals should clearly define the roles, responsibilities and contributions of each applicant involved.

Potential Award Details

Annually, CNL will enter into a series of jointly funded R&D projects that will utilize S&T services from CNL to accelerate eligible SMR vendors’ deployment and support the development of their technologies. Projects must be within the CNRI program focus areas. Applicants are expected to, at a minimum, match the value contributed by CNL in monetary or in-kind contribution

Proposal Review Criteria

Proposal Requirements

Disclaimer: CNL may reject any or all submissions and all copies of material and information prepared by or for the applicant in connection with or in relation to the proposal and delivered to CNL and all other material and information delivered to CNL by the applicant in connection with or in relation to the Proposal including, without limitation, the Proposal shall be the sole and absolute property of CNL. 

  1. The CNRI program is intended to support joint research projects. The applicant must contribute financially to the project.
    1. Proposals with at least matching funds will be considered.
    2. Proposals that have 51%-70% of value provided by CNL will only be considered if the proposal clearly demonstrates significant value to CNL.
    3. Proposals that require CNL to contribute more than 70% of the value of the project will not be considered.
  2. For the 2019 CNRI call for proposals, projects must be complete by 2021 March 31. Projects that extend beyond 2021 March 31, will not be considered.
  3. Work is to be performed at the Chalk River site by, or in cooperation with, CNL staff. Applicants may receive access to CNL facilities and/or laboratories when deemed necessary for the project.
  4. Proposal must include at least one industry partner[1].

[1] An industry partner is defined a private sector entity directly involved with the commercialization of SMRs. This could include a reactor designer/vendor, a future SMR operator and/or a member of the SMR supply chain. 

Proposal Benefits

  1. Proposals must align with at least one of the focus areas listed in the call for proposals.
    1. Applications that include several focus areas in support of multiple objectives are welcome.
  2. Proposals must create lasting value for CNL. This could be in the form of knowledge and/or technology development that CNL can leverage for future work.
  3. Proposals must advance SMR development/deployment.
  4. Proposals must provide a benefit to Canada. This benefit does not need to be fully realized at the end of the project (i.e. SMR deployed in Canada). However, the project must clearly explain how it supports a longer term goal to develop/deploy SMRs in Canada.

Project Scope

  1. Research goals of the applicant should be clearly defined with specific deliverables and a target timeline.
  2. The proposal must outline the roles and responsibilities for CNL and each entity that is included in the application.
  3. The project scope must be achievable within the project budget and available resources[1].
  4. In-kind contributions will not be considered as part of the cost share calculation, however they will be considered during final project selection

[1] The initial project plan, including cost and resource requirements, will be set by CNL for proposals that have passed the technical review. The applicant will be given the opportunity to review the initial project plan prior to final selection.

CNRI Application Guidelines

The proposal should be no more than eight pages in length. It should include the following five sections.

1. Abstract (200 words)

  • The abstract should be written in plain language, and suitable for inclusion in a media release. It should include a description of the research project, target outcomes, and the benefits for CNL and Canada.

2. Alignment (up to 1 page)

  • Describe how the project aligns with one or more of the identified focus areas.
  • Describe how the project aligns with CNL’s SMR strategic initiative.

3. Impact (up to 1 page)

  • Define the key problem that is to be addressed through this project and its significance.
  • Describe how this project will advance SMR development/deployment and Canada.

4. Project Scope (up to 5 pages)

  • Define the research goals of the applicant, include specific deliverables and target timeline.
  • Identify the applicant project team, including name and expertise. Explain how the applicant project team will work with the CNL project team.
  • Optional- Identify the CNL facilities, capabilities and expertise required to complete the scope of work.

5. Budget (up to 1 page)

  • Identify monetary and in-kind contributions from the applicant separately.
  • Optional-Identify CNL facilities, capabilities and expertise requested for the project.
  • Note that in-kind contributions by the applicants not be considered as part of the matching calculation.

For proposals that pass the technical review, CNL will draft an initial project plan that aligns with the funds available (assuming CNL matches the cash contributions of the applicant unless otherwise stated). CNL will share this initial proposal with the applicant prior to final selections.

If CNL determines that the scope defined by the applicant cannot be met within the available funds, CNL may work with the applicant to revise the scope of work and/or budget. However, if a new scope/budget cannot be agreed upon in a timely manner, the proposal may be rejected. If this occurs, the applicant is encouraged to submit a revised proposal in the next CNRI call for proposals (anticipated in early 2020).

For more information, or to submit your proposal, email commercial@cnl.ca.


CNRI Agreement

A CNRI agreement is a collaborative agreement that allows the CNL and SMR applicants to optimize their resources, share technical expertise in a protected environment, access intellectual property emerging from the effort, and advance the commercialization of developed technologies.

Finances

Applicants must provide research funds, but may also make in-kind contributions such as personnel, services, facilities, equipment, intellectual property or other resources. CNL will manage the project and may provide personnel, services, facilities, equipment, intellectual property or other resources. While, CNL will contribute financially to CNRI activities, CNL will not provide cash directly to applicants.

Intellectual Property

CNL's approach to the ownership of intellectual property (IP) generated within CNRI projects at CNL is focused on partner-enablement. Project IP may be owned by successful CNRI applicants, provided that CNL can retain a license consistent with enabling CNL’s SMR demonstration mission.

Personal Property

All tangible personal property produced or acquired under this agreement shall become the property of the applicant or Atomic Energy of Canada Limited (AECL); ownership will be based on whose funds were used to obtain it. All jointly funded property shall be owned by AECL.

Publications and Reports

The applicants agree to produce the following deliverables, in conjunction with CNL, as part of the joint research project:

  • An initial abstract suitable for public release at the time the agreement is signed;
  • A final report, upon completion or termination of this agreement; to include all technical information and results produced as a result of this agreement.

The parties agree to secure pre-publication review from each other wherein the non-publishing party shall provide within 15 days written objections to be considered by the publishing party.

CNL has a vision to support the development and deployment of SMRs in Canada

CNL is a global hub for SMR research and development and demonstration. As a low-carbon source of energy, SMRs are well-aligned with  Canada’s clean energy priorities. Both smaller in size and in energy output, SMRs are considered ideal for deployment both on-grid, and off-grid in remote locations such as mine sites or the oil sands, as well as willing off-grid communities reliant on diesel generators for electricity.

SMRs can be part of an overall energy scheme that includes district heating, co-generation, energy storage, desalination, and hydrogen production among others. These traits are particularly attractive to remote off-grid applications in northern communities or industrial sites, such as mines, where consistent, reliable and low carbon, clean energy is needed.
  
Canada has a proud track record in the design, construction, licencing and operation of small reactors. In Whiteshell, there was  WR-1, an organically cooled research reactor, as well as a SLOWPOKE reactor - an AECL design successfully deployed in universities and research institutions across the globe. In Chalk River, we can point to the ZEEP, NRX, NRU, PTR, and ZED-2 reactors as examples of success in first-of-a-kind deployment.
 
Canada, enabled by the hard work and ingenuity of many people still resident in our surrounding communities, led the world. We will do it again.

Initiative canadienne de recherche nucléaire des LNC

L’Initiative canadienne de recherche nucléaire (ICRN) des Laborations Nucléaires Canadiens (LNC) est un programme visant à appuyer les projets de recherche sur les petits réacteurs modulaires (PRM) en collaboration avec des promoteurs tiers au Canada. L’objectif du programme est d’accélérer le déploiement de PRM sécuritaires, propres et rentables au Canada.

Les LNC offrent un large éventail d’expertise technique, et notre emplacement de Chalk River possède des installations de R et D qui sont utilisées dans le développement de réacteurs prototypes depuis plus de 50 ans. Nous fournissons des capacités dans de nombreux domaines allant des combustibles et composants de réacteurs jusqu’à la thermodynamique et la science des matériaux. Notre équipe est prête à collaborer avec vous pour vous aider à franchir toutes les barrières techniques, réglementaires et économiques et faire progresser votre PRM de l’étape du concept à celle de la démonstration, et au-delà.

Chaque année, l’ICRN lancera un appel de propositions et les LNC entreprendront des projets conjoints de R et D en fonction des résultats de l’examen de ces propositions. L’objectif de l’ICRN est de mettre les capacités techniques et les connaissances spécialisées des LCN à la disposition de la communauté de concepteurs de PRM afin de lui fournir le soutien technique nécessaire pour progresser vers le déploiement de PRM au Canada.

Pour plus d'informations ou pour soumettre votre proposition, écrivez à cnl.ca.

Domaines d’intérêt

Un appel de propositions (AP) sera lancé annuellement dans le cadre du programme de l’ICRN. Chaque AP comprendra une liste de domaines d’intérêt qui changeront d’une année à l’autre.
Les expériences en laboratoire seront examinées au cas par cas. Voici la liste des domaines d’intérêt :

Tableau 1-1
Domaines d’intérêt de l’ICRN en 2019

 

Sujet

Description du domaine d’intérêt

1

Physique des réacteurs

  • Modélisation du comportement des noyaux des PRM à l’aide de comparaisons de référence par rapport aux codes de réacteur de pointe et aux données de prototype de réacteur
  • Études exploratoires (modélisation et expériences) de combustibles et d'autres matériaux à l'aide du réacteur ZED-2

2

Thermohydraulique

  • Études exploratoires (modélisation et expériences) du comportement thermohydraulique du combustible nucléaire et du PRM

3

Dégradation des composants des PRM

  • Modélisation de phénomènes de dégradation des composants, notamment la corrosion, l’érosion, l’encrassement, l’usure de contact, les vibrations et la formation d’hydrures
  • Chimie analytique et analyse des métaux pour les composants des PRM

4

Sûreté, sécurité et octroi de licences

  • Modélisation et simulation de scénarios d’accident
  • Facteurs influant sur la télésurveillance et les opérations à distance
  • Protection intégrée à la conception
  • Sécurité intégrée à la conception
  • Soutien technique pour l’examen de la conception des fournisseurs et l’octroi de licences

5

Facteurs humains

  • Considérations opérationnelles liées aux PRM
  • L’efficacité des interfaces personne-machine proposées pour les PRM

6

Économique

  • Modélisation pour évaluer la viabilité des technologies de PRM pour diverses applications
  • Modélisation d’un PRM dans un système d’énergie nucléaire hybride avec de multiples produits tels que l’électricité, la chaleur, l’hydrogène, le stockage, etc.

7

Transport

  • Défis et solutions potentielles liés au transport de PRM

8

Mise hors service et gestion des déchets

  • Considérations relatives à l’évaluation et à la surveillance environnementales pour les PRM
  • Exigences actuelles du TMD et techniques possibles pour s’assurer que le combustible à PRM satisfait à ces exigences

9

Analyse de faisabilité

  • Facteurs pour un scénario ou une application donné(e) afin de déterminer sa faisabilité en fonction de la technologie du PRM
  • Cela peut inclure l’intégration avec les énergies renouvelables, des applications telles que la production d’hydrogène ou le dessalement, etc.
  • Techniques de fabrication et de construction pour les PRM
  • Cela peut inclure la robotique, la fabrication avancée, l’impression 3D, etc.

10

Analyse de marché

  • Marchés potentiels de PRM afin de déterminer les exigences et les possibilités du marché

11

Mise au point du combustible

  • Études exploratoires (modélisation et expériences) à l’appui de la mise au point future du combustible pour les PRM

 

Collaboration avec plusieurs candidats 

Les LNC encouragent les propositions conjointes avec de multiples candidats qui s’intéressent à des sujets de R et D communs. Dans le cadre du programme de l’ICRN, les LCN aideront à faciliter ce processus en mettant en contact les candidats qui ont exprimé leur intérêt à collaborer sur des sujets ou des défis similaires.
 
Les candidats ont la responsabilité d’identifier les domaines d’intérêt qui les intéressent dans le cadre d’une éventuelle collaboration dans les deux semaines suivant le lancement de l’ICRN. Les LNC informeront les candidats de toute autre partie ayant manifesté un intérêt à collaborer dans un domaine similaire. Les candidats sont encouragés à collaborer pour soumettre une proposition conjointe à des fins d’examen.
 
Les propositions conjointes doivent définir clairement les rôles, les responsabilités et les contributions de chaque candidat concerné.

Détails concernant une éventuelle attribution

Chaque année, les LNC entreprendront une série de projets de R et D financés conjointement qui utiliseront les services de S et T des LNC pour accélérer le déploiement des fournisseurs de PRM admissibles et soutenir le développement de leurs technologies. Les projets doivent s’inscrire dans les domaines d’intérêt du programme de l’ICRN. On s’attend à ce que les candidats égalent au moins la valeur de la contribution monétaire ou en nature des LNC.

Critères d’examen des propositions

Exigences relatives à la proposition

Avis de non-responsabilité : Les LNC se réservent le droit de rejeter toute soumission et les copies de la documentation et de l’information préparées par ou pour les candidats relativement aux propositions et transmises aux LNC, ainsi que toute autre documentation ou information communiquée aux LNC par les candidats et liée directement ou indirectement aux propositions, y compris, sans s’y limiter, les propositions elles­mêmes, sont la propriété pleine et entière des LNC.

  1. Le programme de l’ICRN vise à soutenir des projets de recherche conjoints. Le candidat doit contribuer financièrement au projet. 
    1. Les propositions comportant au moins des fonds de contrepartie seront prises en considération.
    2. Les propositions qui ont une valeur de 51 % à 70 % de la valeur fournie par les LNC ne seront prises en considération que si la proposition démontre clairement une valeur importante pour les LNC. 
    3. Les propositions qui exigent que les LNC fournissent plus de 70 % de la valeur du projet ne seront pas prises en considération.
  2. Dans le cas de l’appel de propositions de 2019 de l’ICRN, les projets doivent être terminés au plus tard le 31 mars 2021. Les projets qui se prolongent au-delà de cette date ne seront pas pris en considération. 
  3. Les travaux doivent être exécutés sur l’emplacement de Chalk River par le personnel des LNC ou en collaboration avec ce dernier. Les candidats peuvent avoir accès aux installations ou aux laboratoires des LNC lorsqu’ils le jugent nécessaire pour le projet. 
  4. Les propositions doivent inclure au moins un partenaire de l’industrie[1].

[1] Un partenaire de l’industrie est défini comme une entité du secteur privé qui participe directement à la commercialisation des PRM. Il peut s’agir d’un concepteur ou d’un fournisseur de réacteur, d’un futur exploitant de PRM ou d’un membre de la chaîne d’approvisionnement des PRM.   

Avantages de la proposition

  1. Les propositions doivent s’aligner sur au moins un des domaines prioritaires énumérés dans l’appel de propositions. 
    1. Les demandes qui comprennent plusieurs domaines d’intérêt à l’appui d’objectifs multiples sont les bienvenues. 
  2. Les propositions doivent créer une valeur durable pour les LNC. Cela pourrait prendre la forme de connaissances ou d’un développement technologique dont les LNC pourraient tirer parti dans le cadre de travaux futurs. 
  3. Les propositions doivent faire progresser le développement et le déploiement des PRM.
  4. Les propositions doivent être avantageuses pour le Canada. Il n’est pas nécessaire que cet avantage soit pleinement réalisé à la fin du projet (c.-à-d. que le PRM soit déployé au Canada). Toutefois, le projet doit expliquer clairement comment il appuie un objectif à plus long terme de développement et de déploiement des PRM au Canada. 

Portée du projet

  1. Les objectifs de recherche du candidat doivent être clairement définis, assortis de produits livrables précis et d’un échéancier cible. 
  2.  La proposition doit décrire les rôles et responsabilités des LNC et de chaque entité visée par la demande. 
  3. La portée du projet doit être réalisable dans les limites du budget du projet et des ressources disponibles[1].
  4. Les contributions en nature ne seront pas prises en compte dans le calcul du partage des coûts, mais elles le seront lors de la sélection finale des projets. 

[1] Le plan de projet initial, y compris les coûts et les besoins en ressources, sera établi par les LNC pour les propositions qui ont réussi l’examen technique. Le candidat aura l’occasion d’examiner le plan de projet initial avant la sélection finale. 

Directives sur la présentation des demandes à l’ICRN 

La proposition ne doit pas dépasser huit pages. Elle doit comprendre les cinq sections suivantes : 

1. Résumé (200 mots) 

  • Le résumé doit être rédigé dans un langage clair et simple et peut être inclus dans un communiqué de presse. Il devrait comprendre une description du projet de recherche, les résultats visés et les avantages pour les LNC et le Canada. 

2. Harmonisation (jusqu’à 1 page)

  • Décrivez comment le projet s’harmonise avec un ou plusieurs des domaines d’intérêt identifiés. 
  • Décrivez comment le projet s’harmonise avec l’initiative stratégique relative aux PRM des LNC. 

3. Impact (jusqu’à 1 page)

  • Définissez le problème clé qui doit être abordé dans le cadre de ce projet et son importance. 
  • Décrivez comment ce projet fera progresser le développement et le déploiement des PRM au Canada. 

4. Portée du projet (jusqu’à 5 pages)

  • Définissez les objectifs de recherche du candidat, y compris les produits livrables spécifiques et le calendrier cible. 
  • Identifiez l’équipe de projet du candidat, en précisant les noms de ses membres et leur expertise. Expliquez comment l’équipe de projet du candidat travaillera avec l’équipe de projet des LNC.  
  • Facultatif – Identifiez les installations des LNC, les capacités et l’expertise requises pour réaliser la portée du travail. 

5. Budget (jusqu’à 1 page)

  • Indiquez séparément les contributions monétaires et en nature du candidat.  
  • Facultatif – Identifiez les installations, les capacités et l’expertise des LNC requises pour le projet. 
  • Veuillez noter que les contributions en nature des candidats ne seront pas prises en compte dans le calcul des fonds de contrepartie. 

En ce qui concerne les propositions qui réussissent l’examen technique, les LNC rédigeront un plan de projet initial qui tiendra compte des fonds disponibles (en supposant que les LNC égaleront les contributions en espèces du candidat, sauf indication contraire). Les LNC partageront cette proposition initiale avec le candidat avant la sélection finale. 

Si les LNC déterminent que la portée définie par le candidat ne peut être respectée dans les limites des fonds disponibles, ils peuvent réviser avec le candidat la portée des travaux ou le budget. Toutefois, si une nouvelle portée ou un nouveau budget ne peut être approuvé en temps opportun, la proposition peut être rejetée. Si tel est le cas, le candidat est encouragé à soumettre une proposition révisée dans le cadre du prochain appel de propositions de l’ICRN (prévu au début de 2020).

Pour plus d'informations ou pour soumettre votre proposition, écrivez à commercial@cnl.ca.


Entente avec l’ICRN 

Une entente avec l’ICRN est une entente de collaboration qui permet aux LNC et aux candidats des PRM d’optimiser leurs ressources, de partager leur expertise technique dans un environnement protégé, d’accéder à la propriété intellectuelle issue de l’effort et de faire progresser la commercialisation des technologies développées.

Finances

Les candidats doivent fournir des fonds de recherche, mais peuvent aussi faire des contributions en nature, comme du personnel, des services, des installations, de l’équipement, de la propriété intellectuelle ou d’autres ressources.

Les LNC seront responsables de gérer le projet et pourront fournir du personnel, des services, des installations, de l’équipement, de la propriété intellectuelle ou d’autres ressources. Bien que les LNC contribueront financièrement aux activités de l’ICRN, ils ne fourniront pas d’argent comptant directement aux candidats.

Propriété intellectuelle

L’approche des LNC à l’égard de la propriété intellectuelle (PI) générée dans le cadre des projets de l’ICRN aux LNC est axée sur l’établissement de partenariats. La propriété intellectuelle du projet peut appartenir aux candidats retenus par l’ICRN, à condition que les LNC puissent conserver une licence compatible avec la mission de démonstration des PRM des LNC.

Biens personnels

Tous les biens meubles corporels produits ou acquis en vertu de la présente entente deviennent la propriété du candidat ou d’Énergie atomique du Canada limitée (EACL); la propriété sera fondée sur la provenance des fonds qui ont servi à obtenir ces biens. Tous les biens financés conjointement appartiennent à EACL.

Publications et rapports

Les candidats acceptent de produire les produits livrables suivants, en collaboration avec les LNC, dans le cadre du projet de recherche mixte :

  • Un résumé initial pouvant être rendu public au moment de la signature de l’entente; 
  • Un rapport final, à l’achèvement ou à la résiliation de la présente entente, comprenant tous les renseignements techniques et les résultats produits à la suite de la présente entente. 

Les parties conviennent d’obtenir l’une de l’autre un examen préalable à la publication, la partie qui ne publie pas devant fournir, dans un délai de 15 jours, des objections écrites qui seront examinées par la partie qui publie.

Les LNC ont pour vision d’appuyer le développement et le déploiement des PRM au Canada  

Les LNC sont un centre mondial de recherche, de développement et de démonstration en matière de PRM. En tant que source d’énergie à faible teneur en carbone, les PRM s’harmonisent bien avec les priorités du Canada en matière d’énergie propre. De plus petite taille et d’un rendement énergétique plus faible, les PRM sont considérés comme étant idéaux pour le déploiement en connexion avec le réseau électrique et hors réseau dans des endroits éloignés, tels que les sites miniers ou les sites d’exploitation des sables bitumineux, ainsi que dans les communautés hors réseau tributaires des génératrices au diesel pour la fourniture d’électricité.
  
Les PRM peuvent s’inscrire dans un programme énergétique global comprenant entre autres le chauffage centralisé, la cogénération, le stockage d’énergie, le dessalement ou la production d’hydrogène. Ces caractéristiques sont particulièrement attrayantes pour des utilisations hors réseau d’électricité dans les collectivités nordiques ou les établissements industriels (les mines, par exemple) où l’on a besoin d’une source énergétique propre, continue, fiable et faible en carbone.
  
Le Canada est fier de ses antécédents en matière de conception, de construction, d’autorisation et d’exploitation de petits réacteurs. À Whiteshell, nous avions le réacteur WR-1, un réacteur de recherche à refroidissement organique, ainsi qu’un réacteur SLOWPOKE, une conception d’EACL qui a été installée avec succès dans les universités et les établissements de recherche à travers le monde. À Chalk River, les réacteurs ZEEP, NRX, NRU, PTR et ZED-2 sont des exemples de réussite dans le cadre d’un déploiement inédit de ces technologies.
 
Grâce au travail acharné et à l’ingéniosité de nombreuses personnes qui résident encore dans nos collectivités avoisinantes, le Canada s’est placé au premier rang mondial. Nous le ferons de nouveau.