Modelling techniques for coolant flow

The Distinguished Merit Award is awarded to:

Armando Nava-Dominguez, Krishna Podila and Yanfei Rao: 

This team developed a high-fidelity, multi-scale, geometry-independent modelling strategy using both Computational Fluid Dynamics (CFO) and subchannel¬ thermalhydraulics codes for modelling coolant flow and heat transfer in thorium fuel bundles. The advanced modeling technique is applicable for the assessment of advanced fuels for existing reactors (advanced reactor concepts. In Canada, the work undertaken by this team has been instrumental in developing this modeling capability for the Canadian nuclear industry.