Low Pressure Hydriding

The D.F. Torgerson Discovery Award is awarded to:

Kevin McCaugherty, Paul Joynes, Stephen Eyvindson, Rob Steele, David Poff, Zhang He, Jozef Mouris and Javin DeVreede

For their work developing a bench-top apparatus and hydriding technique which was capable of artificially hydriding pressure tube sections. Artificially hydriding post-irradiated pressure tubes to a high concentration of hydrogen (160 ppm or higher) is desired by utilities so that end of life component failure analysis can be established.  Engineers and technologists from the Mechanical Equipment Development branch designed and developed a one-of-a-kind apparatus to allow the LPH technique to be used within the Universal Cells at CNL.