Fuel research in ZED-2

The Distinguished Merit Award is awarded to:

Danielle Brushey, Jacob Horner, Ken Thomson, Daniel Trudeau, Jimmy Chow, Nathan Lee and Luke Yaraskavitch

The ZED-2 Operations group safely and successfully conducted a series of measurements on (Pu, Th)O2 fuel, and have begun a series of measurements on (233U, Th)O2 fuel. The experiments have provided invaluable data that will be used to validate codes and nuclear data for advanced fuel cycles, as well as to derive reactor kinetics parameters for studies of transient/accident phenomena for these fuels.