Success Stories

Dr. Robert Walker and Dr. Laurence Leung receive awards for leadership and outstanding contributions to nuclear science and technology

(2015 June 02) On June 02, two of Canadian Nuclear Laboratories' (CNL) most positive advocates and tireless leaders were acknowledged on the occasion of the 35th Annual Canadian Nuclear Society Conference held in Saint John, New Brunswick.

Dr. Robert Walker - Ian McRae Award

As we enter the final stretch in the restructuring initiative, CNL has had a talented, unflappable captain at the helm in Dr. Robert Walker, who has maintained a positive, confident and optimistic tone during the protracted process as well as a determination to engage employees during the journey that has inspired many to look forward to the next chapter in our history. 

Bob was honoured with the presentation of the prestigious Ian McRae Award for inspirational leadership in the transformation of the Canadian Nuclear Laboratories, as well as the establishment of the Canadian Nuclear Leadership Forum. The Ian McRae Award was established in 1976 by the Canadian Nuclear Association in honour of the late Ian F. McRae, the first president of the Canadian Nuclear Association and Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Canadian General Electric Company Ltd. It is given to honour an individual for substantive contributions to the advancement of nuclear energy in Canada.

In a written citation, the CNS acknowledges Bob’s work in 2012 to establish the Canadian Nuclear Leadership Forum (NLF) with executives representing the breadth of the nuclear industry.  Dr. Walker realized that the industry needed to come together to bootstrap its own vision and determine how to achieve it, before approaching others to assist. Also acknowledged, is Dr. Walker’s work in leading a venerable Crown corporation, AECL, to become a stand-alone, high-performing national nuclear laboratory through the articulation of a new vision and winning the trust of government, employees and local communities. 

Dr. Laurence Leung - Harold A. Smith, Outstanding Contribution Award

Also acknowledged at the conference is Dr. Laurence Leung who was honoured with the presentation of the Harold A. Smith Outstanding Contribution Award.  In a citation, the CNS acknowledges Dr. Leung’s long career—he joined Atomic Energy of Canada Limited (AECL) in 1987—and over the past 28 years has made substantial contributions in the field of thermalhydraulics, advancing the CANDU reactor design and that of nuclear reactors generally.  Dr. Leung is currently the Manager, Advanced Concepts and Collaboration at Canadian Nuclear Laboratories.

Dr. Leung has more than 280 publications to his credit and is a world-recognized expert in Critical Heat Flux (CHF) and Post Dry-Out Heat Transfer, pressure drop and supercritical heat transfer.  Throughout his career he has led several multi-disciplinary teams, has been involved in numerous international projects and expert groups, and has organized or co-organized numerous national and international workshops and conferences.