Useful Information

Supply Chain Ombudsman

CNL provides a confidential and unbiased route for Suppliers/Contractors to raise issues associated with either CNL procurement or working with CNL which will be managed in a fair, open and transparent manner. CNL always seeks improvements in its Supply Chain activities and welcomes constructive feedback. For issues and/or feedback, contact CNL’s Supplier and Relationship Development Manager Jack Springer.

Physical Work at CNL

Foreign Workers/Contractors/Suppliers

The Contractor/Supplier is responsible for obtaining necessary foreign worker permits prior to a non-Canadian working at a CNL site. A Government of Canada Website http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/e-services/employer-portal.asp is used to navigate the process.  The user guide can be found at  http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/e-services/employer-guide.asp

Security

As a nuclear facility, access to all CNL sites is controlled. Visitor passes are required to access the site for visits. These passes are arranged by Supply Chain personnel during pre-award and by the project execution team post-award. Security clearances of varying levels are required for personnel having access to CNL documents or performing work onsite. Forms are provided by CNL however individuals must undergo fingerprinting at their local police department and have background checks done prior to submitting the completed forms to CNL’s Personnel Security Services. Clearances must be in place before work can begin. The Supplier/Contractor is responsible for costs associated with security screening.

Due to changes introduced in the Standard on Security Screening which sets out the Government of Canada’s requirements for all levels of security screening, CNL is now required to conduct a financial inquiry (credit check) for all new and renewal security screenings. CNL’s Personnel Security Services will pull the applicant’s credit report as a “blind check”, which means CNL’s check will not be recorded on the applicant’s credit report, and CNL will not receive the applicant’s overall credit score from the reporting agency. Credit reports obtained as part of the security screening process are used only for that screening process and retained in the applicant’s confidential security file. Credit reports are not used or disclosed for any other purpose within or outside CNL.

Training

All Contractors performing physical work on CNL Sites are required to undergo a half day Contractor Orientation course and a half day Radiation Protection course. Contractors performing work in higher radiological zones must undergo a five day training program. The specific nature of required training is provided in the procurement documents.

Radiation Protection

CNL Sites are broken into radiological zones 1 through 4. Some zones require that individuals wear a dosimeter to monitor exposure and the data is used to maintain records for annual and lifetime exposure. Prior to beginning work on a CNL Site it may be necessary for individuals to have a whole body count done to provide a baseline against which any future exposure is measured. The specifics of radiation protection measures for the work in question is contained within the procurement documents.

Health & Safety

The health and safety of all persons at CNL is of paramount importance. This includes employees, visitors, and contractors working at any of our sites. 

CNL is a federally regulated employer for purposes of workplace health and safety, and CNL adheres to the Canada Labour Code and associated Regulations. In general, Contractors working on our sites are regulated by the Act and Regulations of the province or territory in which the work is being carried out, unless they are a federally regulated sector (e.g. aviation or telecommunications). 

CNL categorizes contractors using a risk-based approach, based on the potential hazards related to the scope and nature of the work to be performed. CNL requires prospective contractors to participate in a screening and prequalification process, to ensure they have the capabilities and qualifications necessary to safely execute the work (e.g. programs, resources, training, and certifications). CNL has chosen ISN as our agent to perform this screening and prequalification.

ISN

ISNetworld (www.isnetworld.com) is an online tool used to help streamline the process of collecting and maintaining safety, insurance, quality and regulatory information on contractors and suppliers. Contractors and Suppliers who submit documents to ISN need to be registered as members for which there is a yearly fee. Details of subscription fees can be found on the ISN portal. 

CNL currently uses ISN for verification of Contractor Safety Programs, whereby contractors shall demonstrate good standing. E.g. Shall be registered and meet the appropriate rating set out for relevant safety programs required. This is generally A, B or C. Contractors failing to meet such standards may require further verification to be undertaken, undertake specific corrective actions, or in some cases, may not be deemed appropriate to work on a CNL site. 

Membership is not required to submit a response to a CNL opportunity, however, CNL generally seeks that the contractor obtain membership and have the relevant programs validated by ISN upon notification of being a Preferred Proponent. 

CNL’s requirements for ISN include the following:

  • Company Profile 
  • Health, Safety and Environmental Questionnaire 
  • Safety Statistics Questionnaire 
  • HSSE Programs 
  • Certificates of Insurance 
  • Workers Compensation Rate Statement  

Quality

Many of the projects contracted by CNL require the supplier to be capable of demonstrating compliance to specific Nuclear Safety Related and or Quality Management System.  Such compliance will be confirmed by CNL prior to the award of any contract by a comprehensive review of the management system either by on site audit, document review or both.

Commonly required programs include;

CSA N286 “Management System Requirements for Nuclear Power Plants”  (Specific Clauses and Annexes will be defined as needed)

CSA N285 “General Requirements for Pressure Retaining Systems and Components in CANDU Nuclear Power Plants”

ASME NQA-1 “Quality Assurance Requirements for Nuclear Facility Applications”

CSA Z299 "Quality Assurance Series"

CSA N286.7 “Quality Assurance of Analytical, Scientific, and Design Computer Programs for Nuclear Power Plants”

ISO 9001:2015 “Quality Management Systems Requirements”

ISO 27000 "Information Security Management System"

ISO 14001:2015

ISO 17025:2005 “General Requirements for the Competence of Testing & Calibration Laboratories"

CSA B51 “Boiler Pressure Vessel and Pressure Piping Code”

ASME Section III “Rules for Construction of Nuclear Facility Components” (applicable subsections)

Renseignements utiles

L’ombudsman de la chaîne d’approvisionnement

Les LNC offrent, aux fournisseurs et aux entrepreneurs, une façon confidentielle et objective de signaler des problèmes relatifs au processus d’approvisionnement des LNC ou au travail exécuté en collaboration avec les LNC, et ces problèmes seront gérés de manière équitable, ouverte et transparente.

Les LNC cherchent toujours à améliorer leur interaction avec la chaîne d’approvisionnement et ils sont heureux de recevoir des commentaires constructifs en ce sens.

Pour tout problème ou commentaire, veuillez communiquer avec Jack Springer, gestionnaire de l’équipe responsable du développement et des relations avec les fournisseurs.

Travaux physiques aux LNC

Travailleurs, entrepreneurs et fournisseurs étrangers

Il incombe à l’entrepreneur ou au fournisseur d’obtenir le permis de travail nécessaire avant qu’une personne non canadienne ne travaille sur un site des LNC. Les LNC utilisent un site Web du gouvernement du Canada pour vous guider dans ce processus : http://www.cic.gc.ca/francais/services-e/portail-employeur.asp. Le guide de l’utilisateur est présenté à la page : http://www.cic.gc.ca/francais/services-e/guide-des-employeurs.asp.

Sécurité

Comme pour toute installation nucléaire, l’accès aux sites des LNC fait l’objet d’un contrôle. Les visiteurs doivent être munis d’un laissez-passer pour pouvoir accéder à un site. Ces laissez-passer sont organisés par l’équipe de Chaîne d’approvisionnement avant l’attribution du contrat et par l’équipe responsable de l’exécution du projet une fois le contrat attribué. Des habilitations de sécurité de différents niveaux sont requises pour le personnel ayant accès aux documents des LNC ou travaillant sur les lieux. Ces habilitations sont accordées par le personnel des services de sécurité des LNC et doivent être obtenues avant le début des travaux.

En raison de changements apportés à la Norme sur le filtrage de sécurité, qui définit les exigences du gouvernement du Canada pour toutes les enquêtes de sécurité, les LNC doivent à présent mener une enquête sur la situation financière (vérification de la solvabilité) pour toutes les enquêtes de sécurité, qu’il s’agisse d’une nouvelle demande ou d’un renouvellement. Les Services de sécurité du personnel des LNC se procureront le rapport de solvabilité des candidats « à l’aveugle », ce qui signifie que la vérification des LNC ne sera pas consignée dans le rapport de solvabilité des candidats, et que l’agence d’évaluation du crédit ne donnera pas aux LNC la cote de solvabilité totale des candidats. Les dossiers de crédit obtenus dans le cadre du processus de vérification de la sécurité ne servent que pour le processus de vérification et sont conservés dans le dossier de sécurité confidentiel des candidats. Les rapports de solvabilité ne sont pas utilisés ou divulgués à d’autres fins au sein des LNC ou à l’externe.

Formation

Tous les entrepreneurs qui effectuent des travaux physiques sur les sites des LNC doivent suivre un cours d’orientation d’une demi-journée et un autre cours d’une demi-journée sur la radioprotection. Une formation de cinq jours est offerte aux entrepreneurs qui effectuent des travaux dans les zones où les niveaux de radioactivité sont plus élevés. La nature spécifique de la formation requise est indiquée dans les documents d’approvisionnement.

Radioprotection

Les sites des LNC sont divisés en zones de 1 à 4. Le port obligatoire d’un DTL est indiqué dans certaines zones afin de mesurer l’exposition des personnes qui s’y trouvent. Les données recueillies sont conservées pour la tenue de registres sur les niveaux d’exposition cumulés annuellement et pendant toute la durée de la vie. Avant le début des travaux sur les sites des LNC, il peut être nécessaire de procéder au comptage initial des matières radioactives contenues dans le corps entier des employés afin d’obtenir des données de référence à partir desquelles les niveaux d’exposition à venir pourront être mesurés. Les mesures particulières de radioprotection pour les travaux en question sont indiquées dans les documents d’approvisionnement.

Santé et sécurité

Code canadien du travail – Tous les entrepreneurs sont soumis aux exigences du Code canadien du travail et des règlements qui y sont associés.

Santé et sécurité au travail – Tous les entrepreneurs doivent avoir adopté un programme sur la santé et la sécurité au travail acceptable et qui répond aux exigences de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail de la province de l’Ontario et de son règlement.

Les entrepreneurs qui effectuent des travaux physiques aux sites des LNC doivent présenter leur programme de santé et de sécurité au travail, en vue d’un examen aux étapes de préqualification et de demande de propositions du processus d’approvisionnement.

ISN

ISNetworld (www.isnetworld.comest un outil en ligne qui permet de rationaliser la collecte et la conservation de renseignements sur la sécurité, l’assurance, la qualité et le respect de la réglementation des entrepreneurs et des fournisseurs. Les entrepreneurs et les fournisseurs qui soumettent des documents à l’ISN doivent être inscrits à titre de membres et payer les frais annuels connexes. Tous les détails concernant les frais d’inscription sont indiqués sur le portail de l’ISN. 

Les LNC utilisent actuellement l’ISN pour vérifier les programmes de sécurité des entrepreneurs, qui doivent être en règle, c.-à-d. être inscrits et répondre aux exigences de la catégorie applicable (en général A, B ou C), selon les programmes de sécurité exigés. Les entrepreneurs qui ne répondent pas aux normes établies peuvent demander à ce qu’une nouvelle vérification soit effectuée ou prendre des mesures correctives précises. Dans certains cas, ils peuvent être jugés inaptes à travailler sur un site des LNC.

Il n’est pas nécessaire de s’inscrire pour donner suite à une possibilité de marché des LNC. Toutefois, les LNC requièrent généralement que les entrepreneurs soient inscrits et qu’ils aient suivi les programmes pertinents validés par l’ISN avant de leur envoyer un avis de Proposant privilégié.

Les principales exigences des LNC, pour l’ISN, sont les suivantes:

 

  • Profil de l’entreprise 
  • Questionnaire sur la santé, la sécurité et l’environnement
  • Questionnaire sur les statistiques relatives à la sécurité
  • Programmes sur la santé, la sécurité et l’hygiène du milieu
  • Certificats d’assurance
  • Relevé du taux d’indemnisation des travailleurs  

 

Qualité

De nombreux projets faisant l’objet de contrats avec les LNC exigent du fournisseur qu’il soit en mesure de démontrer sa conformité à un système de gestion de la qualité et/ou de la sûreté nucléaire. La conformité sera confirmée par les LNC avant l’attribution de tout contrat, au moyen d’un examen rigoureux du système de gestion effectué au moyen d’une vérification sur les lieux, d’une révision des documents pertinents ou des deux.

Les programmes souvent requis sont les suivants:

CSA N286, Exigences relatives au système de gestion des installations nucléaires (les dispositions et les annexes particulières seront définies au besoin)

CSA, N285, Exigences générales relatives aux systèmes et aux composants sous pression des centrales nucléaires CANDU.

Norme ASME NQA-1, Exigences en matière d’assurance qualité des applications des installations nucléaires

Séries de normes d’assurance qualité CSA Z299

Norme de la CSA N286.7, Assurance de la qualité des programmes informatiques, scientifiques, d’analyse et de conception des centrales nucléaires

ISO 9001:2015 Systèmes de gestion de la qualité – Exigences

ISO 17025:2005 Exigences générales concernant la compétence des laboratoires d’étalonnages et d’essais

CSA B51, Code sur les chaudières, les appareils et les tuyauteries sous pression

Section III du Code ASME, Règles de construction des composants de centrales nucléaires (et les paragraphes qui s’appliquent)

ISO 27000  Système de gestion de la sécurité de l’information