Doing Business with CNL

Working in Nuclear

Working in the nuclear industry involves a number of core programs that include quality, environmental, health, safety and security considerations that may not arise in other work environments. For more detailed information follow the link Useful Information

Work Planning

CNL plans and manages work requirements through an Annual Plan of Work and Budget (APWB) that flows from strategic 5 and 10 year plans. The fiscal year of each APWB goes from April 1 through to March 31 of the following year. An overview of procurement activities for the current fiscal year can be found through the link Procurement Opportunities and Awards.

Open Listing or Defined Proponent

Competitive procurements are posted on MERX as Open or Defined Proponent. Open listings are visible to everyone searching the MERX website. Defined Proponent procurements are invitation only to a short list of Suppliers/Contractors who have been identified through market research, reputation, industry publications/contacts or previous work with CNL. Some procurements are Directed (Single/Sole Sourced) because of the very specific or narrow requirements of the service or goods. Register as a Potential Supplier to make your business and its capabilities known either generally or to indicate interest in a specific procurement opportunity to Procurement personnel when they are searching for companies to include in Defined Proponent competitive procurements.

Framework Agreements

CNL seeks to establish off the shelf capabilities through strategic sourcing and Master Standing/Service Agreements whenever practicable to ensure best value for money, reduce turn-around time to contract on recurring work of similar scope and establish longer term relationships with selected Suppliers/Contractors. Businesses are encouraged to Register as a Potential Supplier.

Non-Disclosure or Confidentiality Agreements

Suppliers/Contractors may be required to sign such agreements when the information to be provided by CNL in the procurement process is sensitive, proprietary or confidential. Non-Disclosure or Confidentiality Agreements, if applicable, must be signed by the Supplier/Contractor prior to receipt of the procurement documents.

Forms of Contract/Legal Requirements

CNL is working towards a suite of standard and consistent Contract Models that cover the different types of contracts commonly used by CNL. These may be found under References and Forms.

Procurement Vehicles

Master Standing/Service Agreement (MSA)

Framework agreement where the contractor demonstrates their overall competence and capacity to undertake a type of work or service. The terms and conditions, pricing mechanism, quality, and safety requirements are also bid upon by Proponents and individual work packages are subsequently let through Task Orders outlining the specific scope for that package.  

Request for Preliminary Information (RFPI)

Typically used to secure preliminary budgetary data where CNL is seeking to develop its requirements for a future procurement.

Request for Expression of Interest (RFEOI)

Typically used to engage the marketplace to gauge interest in performing a scope of work and for CNL to gain a better understanding for suppliers capabilities and seek feedback on any proposed approaches prior to commencing any formal solicitation. 

Request for Pre-Qualification (RFPQ)

Suppliers/Contractors are asked to demonstrate that they are able to meet certain CNL key requirements prior to being invited to Request for Proposal (RFP). Criteria for pre-qualification may include the Supplier’s/Contractor’s Health and Safety Program, Quality Program, technical capabilities, financial capacity and standing, and previous work and performance. Pre-qualification is frequently used for high-value and/or complex procurements.

Request for Quotation (RFQ)

Used to secure price quotations against established specifications. Typically used for goods and materials solicitations or where simple unit rates are applicable.

Request for Proposal (RFP)

Typically used to secure structured proposals against complex, high-value or high-risk requirements where CNL seeks to draw upon the proponent’s expertise and experience in the form of a proposed solution. An RFP is made up of sections as outlined in the Procurement Process below. A modified form of the RFP is used for less complex, lower value and risk procurements where the expertise and experience of the proponent are still being sought to propose a solution.

Types of Contracts Used by CNL

Lump Sum

Under fixed price contracts, CNL envisages the majority of the contract risk typically owned by the Supplier/Contractor who submits a fixed price to complete the scope of work as provided in the procurement. The Supplier/Contractor is typically requested to provide some level of price breakdown in order for CNL to have confidence that the scope has been appropriately priced.

Time & Material

Under time and material contracts, the risk will typically reside with CNL.  CNL compensates the Contractor/Consultant on the basis of actual cost of labour, materials, equipment, expenses plus a level of profit and overhead. Time and Material contracts usually have the contractual obligation of an Upset Limit which cannot be exceeded and a requirement to advise CNL when a set percentage of spend has been reached (ex. 70%). 

Target Price

Under target price contracts, risk is generally shared between the Contractor/Supplier and CNL.  The target price contract is essentially a variation of a Time & Materials contract where the Contractor and CNL agree to a Target Price to undertake the total scope of work where the target price represents a genuine pre-estimate of the likely out turn of the project including full transparency of costs. The Contractor then tries to execute the contract at or below the Target Price. CNL and the Contractor agree to share risk and reward whereby the Contractor/CNL share in any savings, as an agreed percentage or as a simple set fee, against the scope of work and/or early completion. The Contractor/CNL also share in any overspends/delays as an agreed percentage.

Unit Rate

Under unit rate contracts the risk associated with the unit rate will reside with the Contractor/Supplier whilst the risk associated with the number of units will generally reside with CNL.  The contract price is based on estimated quantities and associated unit price inclusive of everything necessary to complete that unit of work.

Procurement Process

Competitive procurements

Competitive procurements over $25,000 are generally published through MERX (www.merx.ca). Due dates are set for proponents to submit their proposal/bid and late submissions are not accepted.  Some procurements will have a mandatory Site Visit, for example construction procurements, where bidders are invited to review the scope and the physical location with the project delivery team.

Each procurement document is structured similarly – Invitation to participate, Instructions to Proponents, Scope, RFx Question Set, Terms and Conditions or Form of Contract, and Pricing Schedule. Additional schedules may be included depending on the type of procurement.

The RFx Question set outlines the full requirements and criteria against which the bid/proposal will be evaluated. Bids/proposals are evaluated both technically and commercially after it has been demonstrated that mandatory or threshold criteria have been satisfied. Mandatory/Threshold criteria might include a specific quality assurance program, previous experience with the same type of work/scope, the ability to post a performance bond, ability to meet insurance requirements etc. Evaluated proposals are then ranked by score. 

Winning proponents are notified as the Preferred Proponent subject to final negotiation of the contract. Proponents that are unsuccessful are also notified with a letter of regret and the opportunity for feedback from CNL is available upon request.

Travailler avec les LNC

Travailler dans le secteur nucléaire

Travailler dans l’industrie nucléaire peut comporter de nombreuses considérations relatives au programme d’assurance de la qualité, à l’environnement et à la santé et la sécurité qui ne se présentent pas dans d’autres contextes de travail. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez suivre le lien Renseignements utiles.

Planification des travaux

Les LNC assurent la planification et la gestion des travaux, au moyen d’un plan de travail et de budget annuel (PTBA) découlant des plans stratégiques sur cinq et dix ans. L’exercice financier des PTBA s’échelonne du 1er avril au 31 mars de l’année suivante. Un aperçu des activités d’approvisionnement de l’exercice financier en cours peut être obtenu en cliquant sur le lien Possibilités de marchés et attributions. 

Appels d’offres ouverts ou restreints

les marchés concurrentiels sont affichés sur MERX comme appels d’offres ouverts ou restreints. Les appels d’offres ouverts peuvent être consultés par toute personne consultant le site de MERX. Les appels d’offres restreints ne s’adressent qu’à un groupe limité de fournisseurs/entrepreneurs invités à soumissionner. Ceux-ci sont identifiés au moyen d’études de marché, de publications ou de contacts ou en raison de leur réputation ou de collaborations antérieures avec les LNC. Certains marchés sont dirigés (fournisseurs uniques), en raison des exigences très spécifiques liées aux services ou aux biens. Il faut s’inscrire comme fournisseur éventuel pour faire connaître votre entreprise et ses capacités au personnel de l’approvisionnement, qui pourra alors l’inclure dans le groupe de soumissionnaires présélectionnés, dans le cadre d’appels d’offres restreints d’un processus concurrentiel.

Accords-cadres

Lorsque possible, les LNC ont recours à des contrats d’approvisionnement stratégique et à des contrats-cadres permanents pour leurs biens et services, afin d’obtenir le meilleur rapport qualité-prix, de réduire les délais d’attribution des contrats de travaux récurrents de portée similaire et d’établir des relations à long terme avec des fournisseurs/entrepreneurs déterminés. Les entreprises sont encouragées à s’inscrire comme fournisseur éventuel.

Entente de non-divulgation ou de confidentialité

Les fournisseurs/entrepreneurs doivent signer cette entente lorsque les renseignements que les LNC doivent fournir dans le cadre du processus d’approvisionnement sont sensibles, exclusifs ou confidentiels. S’il y a lieu, l’entente de non-divulgation ou de confidentialité doit être signée avant la réception des documents d’approvisionnement.

Types de contrats et exigences juridiques

Les LNC visent à créer une série de modèles de contrats normalisés et uniformes qui engloberont les différents types de contrats qu’ils utilisent fréquemment. Ces modèles se trouvent sous Documents de référence.

Mécanismes d’approvisionnement

Contrat-cadre permanent (CCP)

Accord général dont les modalités et conditions, les taux unitaires, la qualité et les exigences en matière de sécurité font l’objet de soumissions par les promoteurs et dont les lots de travaux sont attribués ultérieurement, suivant les ordres d’exécution qui en définissent la portée.

Demande d’informations préliminaires

Sert habituellement à obtenir des données budgétaires préliminaires, lorsque les LNC cherchent à établir son besoin pour un futur appel d’offres.

Demande d’expressions d’intérêt

Sert habituellement à sonder le marché pour évaluer l’intérêt à effectuer certains travaux. 

Demande de préqualification

On demande aux fournisseurs/entrepreneurs de démontrer qu’ils sont en mesure de satisfaire à certaines exigences clés des LNC avant qu’on les invite à répondre à une demande de propositions. Les critères de préqualification peuvent être le programme de santé et de sécurité des fournisseurs/entrepreneurs, le programme en matière de qualité, les capacités techniques, la capacité et la situation financières et les travaux et le rendement antérieurs. On a souvent recours à la préqualification lors de marchés ayant un degré de complexité ou une valeur élevés.

Demande de prix

Sert à obtenir les prix en fonction de spécifications établies. Généralement utilisée pour les biens et les demandes matérielles ou lorsque des taux unitaires simples s’appliquent.

Demande de propositions

Sert habituellement à obtenir des propositions structurées en fonction d’exigences complexes ou comportant une valeur ou des risques élevés, lorsque les LNC souhaitent pouvoir compter sur l’expertise et l’expérience du soumissionnaire, démontrées sous la forme d’une solution proposée.

Types de contrats utilisés par les LNC

Montant forfaitaire

Le fournisseur/entrepreneur propose un prix fixe pour effectuer l’ensemble des travaux décrits dans le mécanisme d’approvisionnement. On demande généralement aux fournisseurs/entrepreneurs de diviser le montant total en plusieurs montants forfaitaires, en fonction des portions du travail, pour pouvoir faire la comparaison entre leurs propositions.

Temps et matériaux

Les LNC rémunèrent les entrepreneurs/consultants, sur la base du coût réel de la main-d’œuvre, des matériaux, de l’équipement et des dépenses, auxquels s’ajoutent la marge bénéficiaire et les frais généraux. Les contrats fondés sur le temps et les matériaux comportent généralement l’obligation contractuelle d’établir une limite maximale approuvée qui ne peut être dépassée et l’exigence d’informer les LNC quand un pourcentage de dépenses préétabli est atteint (p. ex. 70 %). 

Prix maximum garanti

Cette forme de contrat représente essentiellement une variante du contrat temps et matériaux alors que l’entrepreneur et les LNC s’entendent sur un prix maximum garanti pour l’ensemble des travaux. Dans le cadre de ce contrat, le prix maximum garanti représente une estimation véritable de l’issue probable du projet et les coûts font l’objet d’une transparence totale. L’entrepreneur tente ensuite de réaliser le contrat pour un montant égal ou inférieur au prix convenu. Les LNC et l’entrepreneur conviennent généralement d’un partage des risques et d’une prime, si l’entrepreneur/les LNC réalisent des économies, laquelle peut prendre la forme d’un pourcentage ou d’un montant préétabli, en fonction de l’étendue des travaux et de leur achèvement précoce. L’entrepreneur/les LNC partagent également tout dépassement de budget ou délai, au moyen d’un pourcentage entendu.

Taux unitaire

Le prix du contrat est fondé sur des quantités estimées et le prix unitaire associé englobe tout ce qui est nécessaire pour effectuer cette unité de travail.

Processus d’approvisionnement

Marchés concurrentiels

On peut prendre connaissance des marchés concurrentiels de plus de 25 000 $ sur le site de MERX ( www.merx.ca ). Les soumissionnaires doivent présenter leur proposition/offre à la date d’échéance et les soumissions présentées en retard ne sont pas acceptées. Certains marchés comportent une visite obligatoire des lieux, par exemple les marchés de construction, en prévision desquels les soumissionnaires sont invités à examiner l’étendue des travaux et les lieux physiques, avec l’équipe de mise en œuvre du projet.

Tous les documents d’approvisionnement ont une structure semblable : invitation à participer; directives aux soumissionnaires; portée des travaux; série de questions; modalités et conditions ou forme de contrat et barème de tarification.

Le document d’approvisionnement décrit les critères en fonction desquels la proposition/offre sera évaluée et l’importance de chaque critère. Les propositions/offres sont évaluées sur les plans technique et commercial, une fois qu’il a été démontré qu’elles satisfont aux critères obligatoires. Ceux-ci peuvent comprendre un programme d’assurance de la qualité particulier, l’expérience acquise antérieurement avec le même type de travaux/portée, la capacité à fournir un cautionnement de bonne exécution; la capacité à répondre aux exigences en matière d’assurance, etc. Les propositions évaluées sont classées selon les points obtenus. 

Les soumissionnaires qui obtiennent les meilleurs résultats sont informés et on négocie le contrat final. Les soumissionnaires qui n’ont pas été retenus sont avisés à l’aide d’une lettre de regrets. Une rétroaction des LNC peut être obtenue sur demande.